Key Stage 4 Options

Welcome to the KS4 options page. From here you will be able to access all the information and contact details regarding Year 8s and their GCSE options. The deadline for “Options Forms” is WEDNESDAY 10th FEBRUARY.

Please watch the video presentation, use links to firefly and FAQs section to support students making informed choices about their futures. Contact information is available to speak with subject specialist directly should you have any questions.

 

FAQ

The current blocks are set to ensure that all students are able to study 4 GCSE subjects. Students MUST select one subject from each column (if there is a clash this selection will be considered your reserve option), following your selection students will be able to enter your preferred combination of subjects before submit their form.

Once all students have submitted their option forms I will endeavour to manipulate the options blocks to ensure as many students as possible are able to study their “preferred” options. If students are unable to study their “preferred subjects” they will be contacted by Mr Merrick later in the summer term.

Students are able to change pathways. If students wish to change please contact Mr Merrick – either t.merrick@arnewood.hants.sch.uk, or book a video meeting on Thursday 28th January (LINK TO PARENT BOOKING). Mr Merrick will be able to discuss the best subjects for students based on their future aspirations.

GCSE options are required in order to begin building the timetable for next academic year. If students wish to change their options they will need to contact Mr Merrick before 28th May in order to do so, after this student will need to wait until September 2021 to request changes. Changing subjects can be limited based on numbers of students within classes and the option block they are timetabled in (please note that option blocks change once all students submit their forms to allow the maximum number students to study their preferred option if clashes occur).

It is important to ensure students are studying appropriate courses to ensure motivation and success. If students wish to change subjects once they have started their courses they will firstly discuss this with their tutor and subject teacher. The important question that will be asked is “Why?” and “What would you like to study?”, following this Mr Merrick will endeavour to support appropriate changes in liaison with parents/carers. Once students reach 8 weeks into their studies (usually October half term) they are expected to remain with their GCSE choices.

The Government dictates that students must access a broad curriculum including English, Mathematics, Sciences and at least one of the following within their selection (History, Geography, French or German).

Students allocated to Pathway 1 are strongly encouraged to take a modern foreign language.  Parents/carers are advised that for a student to obtain the English Baccalaureate (Ebacc), they must gain a GCSE grade 4 or better across a core of academic subjects: English; Maths; History or Geography; the sciences (including Computing); and a language.  Increasingly some universities are making this a requirement for entry.

It is important to keep subject choices at KS4 broad and balanced to ensure that students are able to maximise their opportunities in the future. This is the case if students have aspirations for a specific careers path or if they are unsure of the future plans.

Form tutors and Mr Neale (Head of Year 8) are able to support with possible subjects that suit students. Mrs Bennett our careers advisor is also available to support students with possible future steps and aspirations.

We have an outstanding 6th Form at The Arnewood School with a rich and varied curriculum on offer to students of all abilities. Arnewood Sixth has a real sense of community and spirit making it a great place to study. We pride ourselves on our strong pastoral care and this knowledge of each and every student supports one of the most exciting times in your education.

The Sixth Form will allow you to study in a purposeful yet relaxed environment where success is an integral part of this thriving sixth form. The Sixth Form at Arnewood School is hard working, but it is also fun. You will make friendships that can last a lifetime and you will be encouraged to fulfil your potential and realise your ambitions. For further information about The Arnewood School Sixth Form visit www.arnewood.hants.sch.uk/sixth-form/ or please don’t hesitate to contact us here at the school.  

Staff contact details

If required parents can book a video call with options co-ordinator, Mr Merrick to discuss the best subjects for students based on their future aspirations. Video meetings will take place on Thursday 28th January.

Click here to book a parent video consultation.

If you are unsure how to complete the booking form click here for instructions on how to book. How to make a video appointment

 

Staff member

Subject

Contact details

Mr Tim Merrick

KS4 options co-ordinator

t.merrick@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr Chris Neale

Head of Year 8

c.neal@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

     

Miss E. Fardell

08EFL

e.fardell@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr J. Kinnison

08JKN

j.kinnison@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Miss J. Macbeth

08JMH

j.macbeth@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr J. McGregor

08JMR

j.mcgregor@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mrs J. Preston

08JPN

j.preston@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Miss K. Hayman

08KHN

k.hayman@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

 

 

 

Mrs J. Preston

English

j.preston@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr S. King

Mathematics

s.king@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr P. Grant

Science / Triple Science

p.grant@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mrs J. Ballantyne

Core PE / GCSE PE

j.ballantyne@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr M. Gough

PSHE and ICT

m.gough@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Miss A. Tyas

Art and Design

a.tyas@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Miss C. Chubb

Childcare / Health and Social care

s.chubb@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr I. Martin 

Computer Science

i.martin@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr P. Clarke

Construction / 3D Design / Food Tecnhology

p.clarke@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Miss T. Faramus

Drama

t.faramus@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mrs M.Gleave

French / German

m.gleave@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Miss A. Gardiner

Geography

a.gardiner@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mrs K. Wilcox

Hairdressing

k.wilcox@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr J. Kinnison

History

j.kinnison@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr N. Jibson

Media Studies

n.jibson@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mr R. Elkington

Music

r.elkington@arnewood.hants.sch.uk

Mrs A. Reece

Philosophy and Ethics

a.reece@arnewood.hants.sch.uk