Health & Social Care

BTEC Level 3 Health and Social Care

The BTEC Health and Social Care course is designed to develop the knowledge, skills and understanding that underpin the National Occupational Standards in Health and Social Care. The course will prepare learners for employment in the sectors or for higher education.

We offer two  qualifications at The Arnewood School:

> Edexcel BTEC Level 3 National Certificate in Health and Social Care (equivalent to an AS over 1 year).

> Edexcel BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care (equivalent to one A Level over 2 years).

Year 12 

Two mandatory units:

  • Human Lifespan Development
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

Year 13

One mandatory unit Working in Health & Social Care

One mandatory unit from:

  • Psychological Perspectives
  • Sociological Perspectives
  • Physiological Disorders & their Care
  • Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs
Entry Requirements

A minimum of 5 GCSE passes at grade 5 and above which should include English.

Examination arrangements and weightings

For both courses there is 50% external assessment in the form of examinations along with 50% internal assessment in the form of coursework. The unit grades are awarded: Pass, Merit or Distinction.

Recommended support materials and revision guides

The course follows the Edexcel syllabus for which the department provides the appropriate books and other resources in our classroom.


What can I do after I’ve completed the course?

BTEC Health and Social Care provides an excellent foundation for students intending to pursue careers in any area of the health professions including nursing, midwifery, occupational health, social care work with the elderly and people with physical and mental disabilities and working with young children in the preschool and nursery sector as well as teaching.

BTEC Health & Social Care – Transition